IBJJF Graduation System

IBJJF Graduation System

Explore the BJJ belt color, levels, and ranking system and master the art of Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu at SOL, the best BJJ training classes in Phoenix.

BJJ White Belt

The white belt is the starting point in BJJ and represents a beginner practitioner. At this stage, the focus is on learning fundamental techniques, positions, and principles of BJJ. White belts learn basic submissions, escapes, and positional control. Developing a solid foundation and understanding of the fundamental concepts is crucial during this stage.

BJJ Blue Belt

The blue belt signifies a significant progression in skill and knowledge. The typical minimum time requirement for a blue belt is around 1 to 2 years of consistent training. Blue belts have a solid understanding of fundamental techniques and can apply them effectively. They begin to develop their game and personal style, expanding their repertoire of submissions, sweeps, and escapes. Blue belts gain experience through live sparring sessions and start to refine their timing, control, and overall awareness on the mats.

BJJ Purple Belt

The purple belt represents an intermediate level of proficiency. Advancement to the purple belt typically requires 3 to 4 years of dedicated training. Practitioners at this stage display a higher level of technical knowledge and fluidity in their movements. Purple belts possess a wider range of techniques, including more advanced submissions, guard passes, and sweeps. They exhibit better anticipation, timing, and adaptability on the mats.

BJJ Brown Belt

The brown belt is a significant milestone, indicating advanced proficiency. The brown belt is earned after approximately 5 to 6 years of consistent training. Brown belts demonstrate a high level of technical skill, strategic thinking, and creativity. They have a deep understanding of the art, with an extensive arsenal of techniques at their disposal. Brown belts refine their techniques and focus on precision, efficiency, and fluidity in their movements.

BJJ Black Belt

The black belt represents the highest level of achievement in BJJ common belts. It requires exceptional dedication, knowledge, and proficiency. Black belts have a profound understanding of the art, and their technique and execution are highly refined. They possess a vast array of techniques and are often regarded as experts in their own right. Black belts continue to learn and evolve, constantly pushing the boundaries of their skills and contributing to the art.

BJJ Coral Belt

The Coral Belt is an honorary rank in Brazilian Jiu-Jitsu, bestowed upon individuals who have dedicated their lives to the art and made significant contributions to its growth. It represents a culmination of knowledge, experience, and impact within the BJJ community. Coral belts are typically awarded to black belts who have maintained their rank for many years, typically over 30 years of consistent practice and contribution to the art.

BJJ Kids’ Belt Ranking

The belt ranking system for children in BJJ follows a similar progression. It starts with the white belt and progresses through grey, yellow, orange, and green belts, before reaching the blue belt. Kids’ belts often incorporate stripes to signify progress within each belt level. Each belt color introduces new techniques, concepts, and challenges appropriate for the child’s age and development.

It’s important to note that belt promotions are not solely based on technical skill but also encompass other factors such as attitude, character, perseverance, and contribution to the BJJ community. Belt progressions are determined by the instructor’s evaluation of a student’s overall growth and development, both on and off the mats.

Overall, the belt colors in BJJ represent a practitioner’s progression, skill level, and dedication to the art. Each belt stage brings new challenges, techniques, and opportunities for growth, encouraging continuous development and improvement on the BJJ journey.